Rice cooker soy sauce chicken + sambal okra and tofu

on

I am in love with this rice cooker chicken rice concept. I had a bunch of chores to do and I knew Marc was going to be home late tonight so this is just perfect. You can just leave it cooking in the rice cooker and the food is kept warm until you are finally ready to eat!!

Soy sauce chicken rice

So the chicken and rice is basically my previous rice cooker chicken rice + with Joyce’s suggestions!!

Came home and immediately prepared a marinate in a plastic bag. I put the chicken in to marinate while I got ready other things

Marinate:

  • Soy sauce
  • Sushi vinegar
  • Rice wine
  • Sesame oil
  • Garlic
  • Ginger
  • Five spice
  • White pepper

The chicken marinated for about 15 minutes while I prepared the rice and chopped the tofu and okra for the next dish.

In the rice cooker I put rice and water, a bit more sesame oil, soy sauce and stock powder (stock cubes or plain stock will sos do). I had some spring onions lying around so I chopped the ends and stuck them in. Chicken in and that was it!

Sambal okra and tofu

This dish was virtually cooked by Tiff and Nurul. As a non vegetable eater, cooking vegetables is a challenge because I have no recollection of how it’s served normally and what it should taste like. Like a blind person painting through instruction and other instincts..

So I was told to slice up the okra and pan fry the tofu.

Left that all ready to be cooked.

And when we were ready to eat, I fried up some garlic and threw in the okra. When it got soft I added salt and sambal. Mixed it up, added the tofu and some water so it wasn’t too dry.

Took less than 10 minutes

I’m told it tasted of Singapore.. so good!

Leave a comment